In talks with Vickey…

#TeamBUFF catches up with producer for Charlie Boy, Vickey Kisner

What makes your film BUFF?

My film is set in a council estate in Hackney. I think that makes it pretty BUFF! It’s actually filmed in exactly the same place as MY BROTHER THE DEVIL which I discovered after making my film. It’s where I live and it was the perfect location to tell my story.

What film do you wished you had made?

FISHTANK. It’s an incredible piece of filmmaking that transforms unpleasant aspects of life and makes them intriguing and truly beautiful. I tried to achieve a similar thing in CHARLIE BOY. Even though there are tough and emotionally challenging themes at it’s core I still wanted to show elements of light, love and hope within my film.

You are stuck in detention on a Saturday afternoon with five different filmmaker, actors and actresses. Who would you ideally like to spend the day with and why?

Andrea Arnold, Martin Scorsese, Wes Anderson, Noah Baumbach and Jacques Audrillard. These are just some of the people that inspire me. They are all so good at their craft of telling stories and I would love to ask them all a million questions about directing and writing and generally just be in their company. Oh and Tom Hardy, Marion Cotillard, Lupita Nyong’o and Michael Fassbender as they are some of the finest actors this planet has to offer. 

Fiction or Non-Fiction what is your favourite book title?

A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry is an incredible book. I’d love to make it into a film one day. It’s an epic story that shows every single facet of human nature?

How did you become a director/producer?

I’ve worked in the film and television industry for 15 years and always had secret aspirations of becoming a director. I’m focusing my attention on becoming a director full time now and am currently studying an MA in directing at the Met Film School.

 

You can get tickets to see Charlie Boy at BUFF2014 here 

Leave a Reply

